ILRI Addis Ababa campus

Infocenter
12-13 March 2013


An expert meeting to refine the Techfit tool


In Sept 2011 we held a workshop in Dehra Dun to develop a tool for prioritizing livestock feed technologies. The meeting was fruitful in producing a prototype ranking tool which was subsequently applied in India by the ELKS project and in Ethiopia by the ACIAR ELF and USAID Africa RISING Quick Feeds project. The heart of the tool is a simple excel spreadsheet which takes a list of generic technologies and scores them for their requirements for land, labour, inputs, credit and knowledge. In a separate scoring exercise, the same attributes are scored for a particular context, e.g. a district in which interventions are planned. The tool then matches technology and context scores and suggests a shortlist of promising technologies. The tool was applied in both ELF and Quick Feeds projects and the results showed that there is still some work to do as follows:

- The list of technologies needs to be developed to be sufficiently generic to apply to a range of contexts but to be sufficiently specific to generate useful suggestions
- The technology scores need to be refined to be more realistic and each score needs to be justified with a few words of explanation.
- A methodology for cost-benefit analysis of individual technologies needs to be developed.
- A web-based interface needs to be developed that would allow users to add technologies and scores could be developed.


Notes and Actions

In groups we covered:
cost-benefit analysis approaches
the 'pre-filters'
the 'scope for impact' measure
the technoligy/interventions scoring
the 'content' scoring approach/instrument
what to improve in the tool - design, functionality ...

Some significant developments were:
- more filters
- the tool helps to prioritize interventions, not just technologies
- CBA needs to be piloted to discover how to really use it
- the intervention list was extended and refined
- TechFit and FEAST can be adapted to better fit each other


Action list



Agenda

Day 1

Time
Topic
Lead
0900-1030
Welcome
Ice-breaker
The story so far, hypothesis - why this tool?, overview of the tool as it stands
Alan
Peter
Alan
1030-1100
Break

1100-1230
Field experiences – how and where has the tool been used?
Results; issues arising; changes needed
What's the 'tech' of techfit? challenges, practices, best bets ...Discussion
Adugna, Padma, Gemeda
1230-1330
Break

1330-1500
Group work to revise the technology list
- existing list
- new list?
Ben Lukuyu
1500-1530
Break

1530-1700
Plenary to finalize technology list
Peter Ballantyne

Day 2
Time
Topic
Lead
0900-0915
Recap, agree agenda for the day

0915-0945
Cost benefit approaches and options
Isabelle
0945-1030
2 Groups:

1 - cost benefit approaches for techfit (isabelle)
2 - the pre-filters, weighting etc

1030-1100
Break

1100-1230
2 Groups:

1 - cost benefit approaches for techfit (isabelle)
2 - the pre-filters, weighting etc

includes report back

1230-1330
Break

1330-1500
Groups:

1 - interventions - Developing scores and the explanatory narrative for each score.
2 - potential for impact - and scoring
3 - The questionnaire [Refining simple questionnaire to arrive at context scores]

1500-1530
Break

1530-1630
Next steps, including developing web tool, thinking about where and when to test.
Peter Thorne


People

Name
From
e-mail address
Alan Duncan
ILRI
a.duncan@cgiar.org
Peter Ballantyne
ILRI
p.ballantyne@cgiar.org
Brigitte Maass
CIAT Kenya
b.maass@cgiar.org
Birthe Paul
CIAT Kenya
b.paul@cgiar.org
Michael Peters
CIAT Colombia
m.peters-ciat@cgiar.org
Ben Lukuyu
ILRI
b.lukuyu@cgiar.org
Danilo Pezo
ILRI
d.pezo@cgiar.org
Peter Thorne
ILRI
p.thorne@cgiar.org
Jane Wamatu
ICARDA
j.wamatu@cgiar.org
Barbara Rischkowsky
ICARDA
b.rischkowsky@cgiar.org
Padmakumar
ILRI
v.padmakumar@cgiar.org
Isabelle Baltenweck
ILRI
i.baltenweck@cgiar.org
Harinder Makkar
FAO
Harinder.Makkar@fao.org
Alexandra Jorge
ILRI
a.jorge@cgiar.org
Adugna Tolera
Hawassa University
atolera@yahoo.com
Lemma Gizachew
FAO
Lemma.Gizachew@fao.org
David Miano
KARI
DMMwangi@kari.org
Firehiwot Tesfaye
Send a Cow
firetsaceth@ethionet.et
Biruk Hailu
FAO
burew2@gmail.com
Gemeda Dhuguma
Horro ARC
gdjaallataa@yahoo.com
Tsehay Regassa
ILRI
tsehayregassa@yahoo.com